Inspirational Travel Quotes

Travelling is not just about being a tourist. Booking a flight and a hotel is nothing if you don’t perceive what the trip can give to you. I have always loved a quote my aunt (a passionate traveller with plenty of countries on her list) always told me: “The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page.” I always remember this when I decide to visit a new city or a new country, because it’s like adding a new page to our lives, and enrich them with the beauty of the world.

I have collected other quotes that every traveller will love:

“We travel, some of us forever, to seek other places, other lives, other souls.” – Anais Nin

“To travel is to take a journey into yourself.” – Danny Kaye

“Travel makes one modest. You see what a tiny place you occupy in the world.” – Gustave Flaubert

“Tourists don’t know where they’ve been, travelers don’t know where they’re going.” – Paul Theroux

“There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

“Stuff your eyes with wonder, live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories.” – Ray Bradbury

“Not all those who wander are lost.” – J.R.R. Tolkien

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.” – Susan Sontag

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness.” – Mark Twain

“The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see.” – G.K. Chesterton

“The first condition of understanding a foreign country is to smell it.” – Rudyard Kipling

“I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads. Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.” – Rosalia de Castro

What are your favourite quotes about travel?

 

Leave a Reply

