Tutorial: Atomic starburst cushion

Decorating my house is one of the things I love the most: creating a comfortable and cosy atmosphere is important when we get home from a work day. Unfortunately American mid century items are expensive and difficult to find where I live. So I decided to add some gradually, and also add some affordable and DIY accents.

I have this beautiful oak table with matching bench in our dining room. To add some colour I got light blue chairs from Ikea – the model is Leifarne. The bench cushion though, was quite dull with its light brown surface. So I decided to order some mid century inspired fabric to upholster the cushion, keeping the light blue as main colour. I bought it online from Fabrics & Fancies.

I found this stunning Michael Miller atomic starburst fabric and fell in love with it!

mid century fabric
I sewed the rims and added some pressure buttons on the back of the cushion to keep the fabric in place
Ta-da! This fabric really adds a mid century touch to the room

I’m thinking about ordering more of this fabric and add layers to the curtains to match the bench, stay tuned!

stay beautiful,
Diana

Leave a Reply

