The importance of being weird

Sometimes you just stop and start thinking about you and other people. How do you think your friends and family see you? And how does this differ from what they really think about you? I have always felt different from the majority of the people around me.

Not that I think I’m better or original in any way – I just feel like I’m slightly different. I started to think why, and how I wanted to be just like everyone else for the big part of my life. If people consider you normal, they are inclined to accept you. We are scared by what looks different, or unusual.

So here is why so many people strive to be or look normal. But staying true to yourself is the key to happiness, isn’t it? If you live your life pretending to be someone else you’ll end up envious, repressed, and miserable. Just like the people that mock you.

“That proves you are unusual,” returned the Scarecrow; “and I am convinced that the only people worthy of consideration in this world are the unusual ones. For the common folks are like the leaves of a tree, and live and die unnoticed.”
― L. Frank Baum

If you decide to live your life and become who you want to be, some people will always judge you. They will envy your strenght and self-confidence. They will discuss your unusual life choices, saying you are troubled, insane, weird. They will try and change you.

We don’t need this kind of people around!

If your friends or family love you, they will always support your weirdness. I decided long ago to stay away from these people and ignore the judgements even if it’s still difficult sometimes. If you are living the life you want, no one should mock you. I don’t have to explain why I like horror stories or listen to punk rock. Why I decided not to eat animals. Why I like to dress like the way that I do. I’m only open to people who actually want to hear and not judge.

It takes strenght to be weird in this world!

stay beautiful,
Diana

Leave a Reply

